You are here

Guest Blogs

  • SIFA celebrates 37th Thyagaraja Aradhana

    South India Fine Arts (SIFA) held its 37th Annual Thyagaraja Aradhna on February 28, 2016 at the Shirdi Sai Parivar, Milpitas, CA.  True to tradition, the full day’s program started with a group performance of the Pancharathna Kritis lead by Bay Area artists. Many popular Bay area gurus... Read More
    Tue, 08/03/2016 - 00:00
  • Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam dies at the age of 83

    Dr.Abdul Kalam, India's 11th President, died on Monday (27th July, 2015) evening at Shillong, Meghalaya, India. He was a technology visionary. His other interests were poetry and music. He wrote a book of poems called 'My Journey'. He favourite poets in tamil were Subramania Bharatiar... Read More
    Mon, 27/07/2015 - 22:58
  • Sangita Kalanidhi award - 2015

    Eminent vocalist Sanjay Subrahmanyam has been chosen for this year's 'Sangita Kalanidhi' award. The 'Sangita Kalanidhi' award is one of the highest accolades in the field of carnatic music. The award was instituted in the year 1942 and comprised of a gold medal and citation... Read More
    Sun, 21/06/2015 - 13:05
  • Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards 2014

    Noted Carnatic music exponent Shri S.R. Janakiraman has been elected as Sangeet Natak Akademi (SNA) Fellow for the year 2014, a very prestigious honour. There are only 40 fellows of the SNA at present across Indian performing arts.36 artists from Indian performing arts have been chosen for the... Read More
    Sun, 14/06/2015 - 14:54
  • Pancharatna Kritis

    ‘Pancharatna’ literally means five gems. The ‘Pancharatna Kritis’ refer to a set of five compositions in carnatic classical music composed by the famous composer Sri Tyagaraja. Sri Tyagaraja is one of the most famous composers in carnatic music and is a highly revered guru.... Read More
    Thu, 08/01/2015 - 21:40
  • Melakartha raga classification

    The 72 melakartha ragas are classified into 12 groups, with 6 ragas in each group. The groups are numbered from 1 to 12. The melakartha raga system can be thought of as two halves with 36 ragas on each side. The first half comprising of ragas from 1 to 36, that is, groups 1 to 6 will all have m1 (... Read More
    Sat, 27/12/2014 - 17:41
  • Melakartha raga system in carnatic music

    The melakartha raga system is highly mathematical and logical. For the purpose of formulating the melakartha raga system, the great creators of our raga system redefined the 12 tone swara system into a 16 tone system, listed as under: sa    - shadjam   ... Read More
    Fri, 26/12/2014 - 18:25
  • Swara System Explained

    The swaras in the ‘c scale’ from c to top C are c = sa, c# = ri1, d = ri2, d# = ga2, e = ga3, f = ma1, f # = ma2, g = pa, g# = dha1, a = dha2, a # = ni 2, b = ni 3 and SA = C. These 12 tones form an octave. The frequency difference between adjacent keys (c to c#, c # to d and so on) is... Read More
    Mon, 08/12/2014 - 17:26
Copyright 2015 © Musicrux All Rights Reserved.